On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780765386731_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $36.5
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2019
ISBN:9780765386731
publisher: Tor/Forge
imprint: Forge Books

The Retreat

A Novel of Suspense

by Sherri Smith

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $36.5
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2019
ISBN:9780765386731
publisher: Tor/Forge
imprint: Forge Books
Description

Sherri Smith illuminates the dark side of the self-care and wellness industry in a thrilling ride of revenge perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’sNine Perfect Strangers.The Retreatis a twisting, bone-chilling suspense that asks: how well do you really know your friends?

Four women.
Four secrets.
A weekend that will change them forever…if they survive.

Katie Manning was a beloved child star until her mid-teens when her manager attacked and permanently scarred her face, effectively ending her career and sending her on a path of all-too-familiar post-Hollywood self-destruction.

Now twenty-seven, Katie wants a better answer to those clickbait “Where Are They Now?” articles that float around online. An answer she hopes to find when her brother’s too-good-to-be-true fiancée invites her to a wellness retreat upstate. Together with Katie’s two best friends—one struggling with crippling debt and family obligations, one running away from a failed job and relationship—Katie will try to find the inner peace promised at the tranquil retreat. But finding oneself just might drudge up more memories than Katie is prepared to deal with.

Each woman has come to the retreat for different reasons. Each has her secrets to hide. And at the end of this weekend, only one will be left standing.

Contributor Notes

When not writing SHERRI SMITH spends time with her family and two rescue dogs, and restores vintage furniture that would otherwise be destined for the dump. She lives in Winnipeg, Canada, where the long, cold winters nurture her dark side. She is the author ofFollow Me Down andThe Retreat.

Editorial Review

“Captivating... Prose that zings with amusing metaphors and wry wit drives this exhilarating roller-coaster ride.” —Publishers Weekly(starred)

“Smith credits long, cold winters as her dark muse, and her second novel is a compelling manifestation of that muse at work...Fans of the genre will enjoy their favorite dish, served not just cold, but organic, perfectly in keeping with Thackeray’s characterization, 'Revenge may be wicked, but it's natural.'” —Booklist

Praise forFollow me Down
“No one can be trusted. This engrossing page turner will keep you guessing right up to the delicious ending.” —New York Timesbestselling author Diane Chamberlain

“Pulled me in from the very first page, then kept me engrossed all the way to the end with a dark and twisty plot and a town that’s a living breathing character of its own.” —New York Times bestselling author Chevy Stevens

“Whip smart exploration of how well we know anyone in our lives, even a twin brother. You'll flip the pages long into the night to find out what happened to Lucas, but you'll never guess the explosive ending!” —New York Times bestselling author Kate Moretti

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Sherri Smith

Follow Me Down

Follow Me Down

A Novel
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged : psychological
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...