On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781927040652_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.00
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: May 2013
ISBN:9781927040652
publisher: BookThug

The Red Album

by Chris Eaton

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
biographical, hispanic & latino
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.00
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: May 2013
ISBN:9781927040652
publisher: BookThug
Description

In the tradition of Borges, Nabakov, and Bolaño, The Red Album is a work of fiction that questions historical authenticity and authority. Divided into two parts, the book begins with an edited and footnoted narrative of dubious origins. In the second part, a section of "documents" (including essays, memoirs, a short play and a filmography) shed light on the first narrative. Familiar characters are revealed to be writers, and the writer and editors of the initial narrative are revealed to be characters. As the ghosts of social revolutions of the past are lifted from the soil in Catalonia, and a new revolution unfolds in South America, the number of mysteriously missing author/characters grows almost as fast as new author/ characters emerge and complicate and scatter the threads of the story.

About the Author

Chris Eaton is the author of three previous novels, including Chris Eaton: A Biography (2013), selected as one of the Books of the Year by Quill and Quire and the Toronto Star. He also spent many years making music in the band Rock Plaza Central. Chris currently lives in Sackville, New Brunswick, with his partner and their two children.

Author profile page >
Editorial Review

In The Red Album, the scene of Spain and the fragile legacy of a poet occasion a series of astonishing entries into the archives and affects of revolution. Stephen Collis turns sharply away from “the department of historical memory,” exploring, instead, those alternative theatres of language and social struggle within which the past may be recovered and critically animated. This is a moving and also a challenging book, precisely because it confronts this enduring imperative: “We must see again what ways we can be together.”
– David Chariandy

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Chris Eaton

Joyland Trio Deal

Joyland Trio Deal

Why They Cried, Letters to Thomas Pynchon, and How I Came to Haunt My Parents
edition:eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...